Green Garden Gate Waddesdon

Gardening Blog

2015 growing season plans!

Leave a comment


I am getting rather itchy fingered about the lengthening days even if the days are still cold! There’s quite a bit of planning going into the next growing season in terms of what is going where, especially as I have been rather weak-willed when it comes to buying new seeds and have a lot of things to fit in.

Update – here is a rough plan of the 2015 growing year:

Around November last year I added garlic cloves to trays in the greenhouse and they’re about ready to go outside now. I am also over-wintering my new strawberry plants in there until spring – if the mice leave them alone long enough!

I heard that village veggie competitors sow their onion seeds on Boxing Day to give them the best chance of large vegetables so I thought I’d give it a try. They really did need the heat tho, nothing was happening in the unheated greenhouse so they have come inside on the windowsill and they are sprouting now!

Similar story for some far too early sowings (did I mention I had itchy fingers?!) of squash, pumpkins and tomatoes. The aubergines and chillies I tried tho have yet to sprout.

One of the gardening forums I joined recently prompted me to start of some radishes too; I’m so excited they have actually started to sprout!

 

 

Leave a Reply

