Green Garden Gate Waddesdon

Gardening Blog

Sprouting garlic, tomato and mini-greenhouse

1 Comment


IMG_9928

garlic sprouting

My garlic cloves are sprouting!

Those who’ve read earlier posts will remember I have had problems with locals cats in the beds. Well I am happy to report that the cats are mostly avoiding the beds these days and part of that I think is down to the smell of the garlic cloves planted recently.

IMG_9929

tomato Maskotka seedlings

The Maskotka tomatoes were really starting to need more space to grow, the other varieties planted later (but in propagators cells) were starting to put them to shame. I think my experiment of re-using egg boxes has been successful in that I now know that it’s not a very good idea! I planted them into both Compostapots and traditional plastic pots, I wonder if there will be any difference between them.

There’s now a hand-made extra shelf in the mini-greenhouse, mainly to give a bit more storage, but to also keep seedlings that like it a little warmer higher up. I have noted that the slugs like the plants lower down so I’ve taken everything off the floor for now and installed a slug trap (cider in a tin can). My poor coriander really was being eaten to ground level every night so fingers crossed this recovers. I hope to reduce the slug population here before I need to plant my tomatoes and cucumbers in the grow bags!

Speaking of tender, I put my cucumber seedlings in the mini-greenhouse overnight for the first time last night and was reading several weather apps worried that it might go as low as -1°C and I possibly went a little OTT in putting a small terracotta oil lamp (fuelled by olive oil) on the grass at the bottom at 2am so as to keep the temperature up above freezing. I checked it first thing this morning and it appears to have worked perfectly, there was no chill in the air inside the mini-greenhouse.

Green Garden Gate Waddesdon

 

 

One thought on “Sprouting garlic, tomato and mini-greenhouse

  1. Coriander update; the initial seeds I planted seem to love having a slug-free environment, there are lots of seedlings finally able to break the surface without being obliterated. Hopefully the damage already done to those already eaten will be overcome, perhaps the root system will produce more leaves..?!

    The second batch of seedlings sown were some old ones from a friend, so far there are two seedlings, fingers crossed some more were viable and they are just taking their time like the first batch did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

