Green Garden Gate Waddesdon

Gardening Blog

Daffodils and bees

Leave a comment


 

IMG_9824

Daffodil and snowdrop fruiting body

The daffodils have been out a little while now and the snowdrops have most definitely gone.

IMG_9822

We had a few bees visit the garden whilst I was there today, a honey bee got caught in the mini-greenhouse and needed extraction. He was a little peeved by the time I found him so I had to be careful not to upset him further. There were a couple of bumble bees in the garden too

IMG_9813

bumble bee near the apple tree

IMG_9815

bumble bee exploring a hidey hole in the grass

I sowed beetroot ‘boltady’ and aubergine ‘black beauty’ today so we shall see how long those take to germinate.  My nasturtium seedlings were getting rather big and needed thinning so I re-potted four of the five seedlings and they are now in the greenhouse. I am hoping they are ok there as I haven’t fully hardened them off yet. I’ll transplant them into beds as the risk of frost disappears.

Yesterday evening I sowed courgette and coriander seeds from a friend in the pots they came in so fingers crossed they are happy.

I am debating whether to grow garlic at the moment; I use a lot in cooking and so it’ll be interesting to see what flavour I could get out of the garden.

Green Garden Gate Waddesdon

Leave a Reply

